DNS Zone Transfer

Do you need to change a web host, and need to transfer your DNS from one name server to another? You may use our DNS Zone Transfer tool to generate the DNS Zone file.

What is a DNS Zone?

A DNS zone is a portion of the domain name space that is delegated to a specific administrative entity and for which that entity is responsible for managing the mapping of domain names to IP addresses. The domain name space is organized into a hierarchical tree structure, and each node in the tree represents a different portion of the namespace, which is known as a "zone".

A DNS zone is defined by a start of authority (SOA) record and a set of resource records (RRs), which define the IP addresses and other information associated with the domain names within the zone. The SOA record contains information about the primary DNS server for the zone, the administrator's email address, the version number of the zone data file, and other important information.

For example, the domain name "iplocation.net" can be divided into several zones, such as "iplocation.net", "www.iplocation.net", and "tools.iplocation.net". Each of these zones can be managed by different administrators and have different resource records, allowing for a flexible and scalable DNS infrastructure. You may also manage the entire subdomain (iplocation.net, www.iplocation.net and tools.iplocation.net) in a single zone.

DNS zones are managed by authoritative DNS servers, which are responsible for serving the zone data to clients (such as web browsers) that request information about the domain names within the zone. The authoritative DNS servers provide the final answer to DNS queries, and the information they provide is used by clients to resolve domain names to IP addresses and access web sites and other online services.

What are different types of DNS Records?

There are several different types of DNS records that are used to map domain names to IP addresses and other information in the Domain Name System (DNS). The most common types of DNS records are:

  1. A (Address) record: This is the most basic type of DNS record and maps a domain name to an IP address.
  2. MX (Mail Exchange) record: This record maps a domain name to a mail server responsible for accepting email for that domain. You may use our MX Validator tool to verify proper configuration of the MX records for your domain name.
  3. CNAME (Canonical Name) record: This record maps an alias domain name to a real domain name. For example, a CNAME record could map "www.iplocation.net" to "iplocation.net".
  4. NS (Name Server) record: This record specifies the authoritative DNS servers for a particular zone.
  5. TXT (Text) record: This record can contain text-based information about a domain, such as SPF (Sender Policy Framework) information used to prevent email spoofing.
  6. AAAA (IPv6 Address) record: This record maps a domain name to an IPv6 address.
  7. SRV (Service) record: This record is used to identify the location of services, such as the location of a particular server that provides a specific service, such as a database or file server.
  8. PTR (Pointer) record: This record maps an IP address to a domain name, and is used for reverse DNS lookups. You may use our Reverse DNS tool to lookup IP to Domain name mapping.
  9. SPF (Sender Policy Framework) record: This record is used to specify which mail servers are authorized to send email on behalf of a domain. You may use our SPF Validator tool to verify SPF records for your domain name.
  10. These are some of the most commonly used DNS record types, but there are others as well. The type of DNS record used depends on the specific needs of the domain and the service it provides.

Related Articles

Related Tools

Tool Search by Keyword

IP Location

Your IP    Hide My IP
IP Location , ,