Timezone Converter

Convert time zone from one city to another. Search by city name, or time zone name (EST, CDT, MST, and etc.) to pick a time zone. Foreign characters are accepted in the city name. For cities observing daylight savings time (DST), it is already accounted for.

What are Time Zones?

Time zones are regions of the Earth that have the same standard time. They are defined by the longitudinal position of a location on the Earth's surface and are used to coordinate time worldwide. The Earth is divided into 24 time zones, each representing one hour of time difference from the Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) or Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

The prime meridian, located at 0 degrees longitude, is the reference point for measuring time zones. Time increases to the east of the prime meridian and decreases to the west. Each time zone typically covers 15 degrees of longitude, resulting in 24 standard time zones around the world.

The time zones are generally labeled with a three-letter code, such as EST (Eastern Standard Time) or PST (Pacific Standard Time), and may have associated Daylight Saving Time (DST) adjustments to account for seasonal changes. Not all regions observe DST, and the start and end dates may vary.

Some regions may use time offsets that differ from the standard one-hour increments, due to political, economic, or geographical considerations. Additionally, certain time zones such as India (IST) and Newfoundland are offset by 30-minutes, and others have time zones that are offset by increments other than one hour. For more information about time zones, please review Time Zones by Country table.

Related Tools

Tool Search by Keyword

IP Location

Your IP    Hide My IP
IP Location , ,